We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Nathan Douds Ensemble

by Nathan Douds Ensemble

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


A B Coda 12:20
528 07:35
Gypsy Lane 06:45
Zaza's 11:22
Savasana 07:47


Formed in 2010, the Nathan Douds Ensemble features six musicians with diverse musical backgrounds and career paths, a prime factor that allows this group to remain as flexible as it is. The group has given recitals/concerts, clinics, and masterclasses at various academic institutions, including Youngstown State University, Slippery Rock University, Denison University, University of Southern Illinois, Chicago Academy of the Arts, among others.
In this, their first self-titled album, the group performs seven of Douds' original works. Recorded at the renowned Red Rock Recording studio, the album showcases the wide dynamic and stylistic range of the group.
The opening track of the album, A B Coda, is a through-composed piece with sections of gradual motivic development interrupted by abrupt thematic shifts. It features a patient opening, alternating between composed and improvised ideas. Douds draws on some unlikely sources for inspiration -- the second track of the album, 528, was named after an amazingly difficult road in Pennsylvania, capturing the experience of traveling this road by constantly increasing and decreasing in tempo, all while blending musical elements of Irish music, rock, and jazz. Also referencing streets from Douds’ past, Gypsy Lane features saxophonist Jason Kush and travels through territory that is vaguely reminiscent of Chick Corea's Electric Band work before disintegrating into an otherworldly free section with snippets of effects and live electronic sounds as accompaniment to Kush's poignant saxophone and wordless vocals by Justin Endler. Endler's haunting vocal returns in a prominent role in After Long Silence, a two part composition which sets a William Butler Yeats poem in the opening section before featuring pianist Dan Murphy in beautiful lines of implied counterpoint and spacious harmonies. Guitarist Daniel Bruce's timbal sensitivity and elegant lines and bassist Kurt Kotheimer's angular grooves are featured on the sixth track, Zaza's, named after a Cleveland, Ohio venue.


released October 22, 2012

Nathan Douds Ensemble:
Dan Murphy, piano
Kurt Kotheimer, Double bass and Programming
Nathan Douds, compositions, drums, percussion
Jason Kush, tenor/soprano saxophone and clarinet
Justin Ender, Voice, alto saxophone, and laptop
Daniel Bruce, Guitar and effects




New Focus Recordings New York, New York

New Focus Recordings is an artist led collective label featuring releases in contemporary music of many stripes, as well as new approaches to older repertoire. The label was founded by guitarist Daniel Lippel (who is the current director), composer engineer Ryan Streber, and composer Peter Gilbert in 2003-4, and features releases from many of new music's most active performers and composers. ... more

contact / help

Contact New Focus Recordings

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Nathan Douds Ensemble, you may also like: