Nutshell Studies of Unexplained Death

by David Smooke



released October 14, 2016

Track List

1. Nutshell Studies of Unexplained Death 15:48
David Smooke, toy piano; The Peabody Wind Ensemble: Harlan Parker, conductor

2. Transgenic Fields, dusk 15:04
Karl Larsen, piano

3. A Baby Bigger Grows Than Up Was, Vol. I: A to breathing 5:01
loadbang: Jeffrey Gavett, baritone and percussion; Carlos Cordeiro, bass clarinet; Andrew Kozar, trumpet; William Lang, trombone

4. Some Details of Hell 11:36

Lunar Ensemble: Gemma New, conductor; Lisa Perry, soprano; Stephanie Ray, alto flute; Gleb Kanasevich, clarinet; John Wilson, piano; Peter Kibbe, violoncello

5. 14:37

David Smooke, toy piano and looping pedal

6. 21 Miles to Coolville 8:31

Michael Parker Harley, bassoons

Recording Engineer: Scott Metcalfe (except Track 6, Jeff Francis)
Recording Location: Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University (except Track 6, University of South Carolina)
Recording dates: Track 1 4/23/2014, Track 2 2/6/2014, Track 3 10/22/2013, Track 4 4/11/2014, Track 5 8/12/2014




New Focus Recordings New York, New York

New Focus Recordings is an artist led collective label featuring releases in contemporary music of many stripes, as well as new approaches to older repertoire. The label was founded by guitarist Daniel Lippel (who is the current director) and composer Peter Gilbert in 2003, and features releases from many of new music's most active performers and composers. ... more

contact / help

Contact New Focus Recordings

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code