We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

There Never is No Light

by Joshua Rubin

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more




On There Never is No Light, ICE clarinetist and program director Joshua Rubin presents several works for clarinet and electronics that explore the dynamic world of electro acoustic music over the last forty years. From Suzanne Farrin's timbally explorative Ma Dentro Dove, performed with the clarinetist activating vibrating strings by playing underneath an open piano lid, to the premiere recording of seminal composer Mario Davidovsky's Synchronisms #12, the last in his genre defining series of works for live instrument and tape, this recording lifts sound away from the constraints of acoustic or electronic perception and assesses it on its own terms. There Never is No Light also includes a guest spot by ICE pianist Cory Smythe, and a premiere by longtime ICE collaborator, Mario Diaz de Leon. Iconic composers Ignacio Baca de Lobera and Olly Wilson are also represented on this unique and penetrating recording of the avant garde clarinet repertoire.


released October 15, 2013

Joshua Rubin
clarinet and bass clarinet
Cory Smythe
piano, track 3

Recording venues
1, 2, 4 and 6 Oktaven Audio by Ryan Streber (Oktaven Audio)
3 SUNY Purchase, by Silas Brown (Legacy Sound)
5 Astoria Soundsmythe Studios, by Joshua Rubin (This Room)

Session producers
2 Dan Lippel
5 Ross Karre
Mastering and mixing
Ryan Streber
Thomas Locke Hobbs (front and inside back covers)
Carl Gunhouse (inside front and back covers, disc)

Graphic Design
Thomas Marquet

To Allison Lyman for inspiring me to do all of this; to the composers featured and particularly to Olly Wilson and Mario Davidovsky; to my parents; to John Zorn; to Jeremiah Cymerman; to
New Focus Recordings; to ICE for commissioning The Soul is The Arena; to the Rockefeller Foundation’s Bellagio Center for the support of Suzanne Farrin’s work.




New Focus Recordings New York, New York

New Focus Recordings is an artist led collective label featuring releases in contemporary music of many stripes, as well as new approaches to older repertoire. The label was founded by guitarist Daniel Lippel (who is the current director), composer engineer Ryan Streber, and composer Peter Gilbert in 2003-4, and features releases from many of new music's most active performers and composers. ... more

contact / help

Contact New Focus Recordings

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like There Never is No Light, you may also like: